Just For Fun

Back 2 School

Hello out there! Long time no blog, huh? What’s that sound…could it be school bells and swarms of scooters? Yep, from Cape Central to the Southeast campus, students are back in full force (and in scooter armies!)

Scooters

Our lot is always completely full of scooters.

It’s hard to believe that it’s back-to-school time all over again. Time flies when you’re melting from heat. LOL!

News Cast

Have you ever found a ‘Fail’ Photo as bad as this one?

As a kid, summer vacation never seemed long enough.  As an adult, I always have these monumental plans of what I will do with the extra daylight hours and (hopefully) my summer vacation. Sometimes those things get accomplished but, more often than not, I wish I had a few more weeks.  Every year it seems like the fall semester comes earlier and earlier and I am never quite prepared for it. Where does the time go?

This summer has been an absolute whirlwind of summer camps and fall planning. If you haven’t checked out our fall workshops, then you are missing out! Check out the website we have some amazing new workshops and instructors (and we brought back your favorites from the past too!) From fly-fishing to fashion jewelry. We worked hard to try and put together classes for all ages and interest levels. As always, I welcome your feedback so drop me a line if you have ideas/suggestions for future semesters. Oh, and if you want to stay up-to-date on all the CE news, make sure you signup to get our monthly newsletter. You can also now find us on Facebook, Youtube, and (YAY!!!) Pinterest. Can you tell that Austin has been busy this summer? (If you don’t know who Austin is…be sure to check out some of his cool tech-related blogs here.)

Speaking of blogs and the “interweb” in general, I have a new addiction to share. As many of you already know, I am a bit of a nerd. Maybe it is an occupational hazard but I tend to think of it as more of a “personality quirk.” My inner nerd comes in quite handy when it comes to my profession. I love learning a little about a lot of stuff…and Continuing Education definitely give me the opportunity to do that! This summer (while attempting to do some marketing research) I stumbled across TED. I am a little ashamed to admit that I wasn’t familiar with this wonderous nonprofit learning organization before….after all, Ted’s been around since 1984. (Can my nerd-card be revoked for this confession?) Am I being to cryptic? Who is this TED? I know you are dying to know!

From the TED website: “TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. Along with two annual conferences — the TED Conference in Long Beach and Palm Springs each spring, and the TEDGlobal conference in Edinburgh UK each summer — TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Project and TED Conversations, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize.”

WAIT!! Don’t fall asleep on me now! I know how it sounds. I am recommending that you check out…let’s be honest…a nerd-conference. Actually, to be fair, I may be recommending the Lollapalooza (or Woodstock…not trying to leave anyone out) of nerd conferences. Keep an open mind here! This isn’t some elitist snoozefest. In fact CBS news described Ted like this:
“To call TED “elitist” makes it sound like snobbery. Not so. Instead, imagine a gathering peppered with dozens of futurists, artists, CEOs, and scientists — plus a few more folks who defy categorization. They get all together for several days to listen to mind-blowing talks about everything from population trends to sea creatures. It is an intellectual Mardi Gras.”

My job as the Assistant Director of Continuing Education at Southeast Missouri State University means that I am typically trying to promote some type of learning enrichment opportunity to you/the community. In most instances, I have used this blog to talk about programs we are offering at Southeast or given you recipe/project ideas from those workshops. The TED talks are a bit different. Every once in a while I manage to stumble across something on the web that has the power to change the way I think (and, no, I don’t mean about whether it really IS possible that Elvis is still alive or Snookie will be a responsible parent.) When I have those moments, I will do my best to share them with you. Having said that, it is really hard to tell you how/where to start investigating the TED talks. There are just sooooo many interesting topics! Let me give you just a few of my favorites for back to school:
http://www.ted.com/talks/daphne_koller_what_we_re_learning_from_online_education.html
– Are you interested in free access to classes from Princeton, Stanford and other top schools?
http://www.ted.com/talks/kirby_ferguson_embrace_the_remix.html
– Is anything really “original?”
http://www.ted.com/talks/ken_robinson_says_schools_kill_creativity.html
– Do we educate children out of creativity?
http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/joshua_klein_on_the_intelligence_of_crows.html
– You will never look at crows the same

These are just a few of the thousands of topics and performances available FREE at TED. Most of the talks are between 15-20 minutes and they can be downloaded onto most types of portable devices so that you can listen in the car, at the gym, etc. Check them out and let me know what you think. I would love to hear about your favorite TED talks!

I will be back next week to talk about football, tailgating, beer and bacon! You won’t want to miss some of these recipes and creative ideas!

About semochristy

I am the Assistant Director of Extended and Continuing Education at Southeast Missouri State University.I love what I do and look forward to sharing the fun with you!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

