Informative, Just For Fun

I’m Late…I’m Late

These last two weeks have been like a whirlwind…out with fall and into the holiday season. I feel a little like Alice’s Mad Hatter friend…I’m late posting a blog, behind on several projects and late to bed every night. Whew! So..here is a pictorial record of some of the last two week’s activities.

Thebes Cemeteries

Click to Enlarge

Photo of Su Hill Sushi School

Click to Enlarge

Photo of Mad Hatter Christmas Tree

Click to Enlarge

Pretty diverse, right? It is hard not to love this job when I can go from the cemeteries of Southern Illinois to a sushi class with Su Hill. We also hosted a conference for women to help empower the ladies in our area AND I’ve spent the nights decorating my shop for Christmas with (my friend) Sarah’s mom (Sharon.) I feel like I’m caught in the holiday rush and it isn’t even Thanksgiving!! When will it stop?

If I answer that question honestly, the push and pull of my personal and professional life will never stop. Why? Because I love the chaos. On any given day/night I love all the people who wander thru my office and home. I thrive on being busy, learning new things and trying to impact the lives of those around me. I’m blessed to have a job that allows me to meet all these needs.

So…you may ask… what have I learned in the last two weeks? I learned that driving through Southern Illinois on an October afternoon can feel like driving through an autumn painting come to life. I also learned that thousands of young men who sacrificed their lives in the Civil War lie in nameless graves in Mounds. If you’ve never visited the military cemetery there, it is worth the drive. It certainly made me think a little more about this Veteran’s Day.

I also learned that part of my problem when I make sushi is that I don’t keep my hands cold enough. Su Hill of Saffron (in Cape Girardeau) teaches me something new every time I sit in on her classes. If you want to learn more, join us for our next Continuing Education cooking class. It is so much fun!!

I also learned that non-traditional Christmas trees can be the most fun…check out my Mad Hatter’s tea party tree…it was such a blast to put together! I encourage to shake-up your Christmas traditions. I tend to have a really hard time with this concept because the holiday’s and traditions are all intertwined in my brain. I’m glad I took some design risks this year! Try it at home…you may be pleasantly surprised at the outcome. (I know I was.)

Sorry for the short post this time! I promise that you will get more content next week! In the meantime, several people asked me for some of Su’s recipes and I thought I would give you some lighter fare before I share all the yummy Thanksgiving goodness I have saved up for next week’s post.

Su Hill’s Workshop Recipes:

Wasabi Dressing for Asian Salad

6 tbsp Rice Vinegar (sweet)
5 tbsp Oil (Canola, Olive, etc.)
1 tsp kosher salt
2-3 tsp wasabi paste, powder, or root
2 tsp water

1. Mixed well and served with your choice of mixed greens.

Ginger-soy-wasabi dressing

Add all above ingredients and:
Add 2 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
2-3 tsp crushed toasted sesame seed.

Stir fry sauce

3 tbsp Light soy sauce
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp water

1. Mixed well, keep in bottle if you make in advance.

Stir-fry vegetables

1 tbsp chopped ginger root
1 tbsp chopped garlic
1 tbsp oil
¼ cup of vegetable stock
2 cups assorted fresh vegetables (cleaned and well-drained)
3 tbsp of stir-fry sauce
1 tbsp of oyster sauce (optional)

1. Heat in a wok or deep frying pan.
2. Add oil, ginger and garlic.
3. Add vegetables, stir for 2-3 minutes.
4. Add stock and stir-fry sauce.
If you prefer thicker sauce, you may add 1 tbsp corn starch water.

About semochristy

I am the Assistant Director of Extended and Continuing Education at Southeast Missouri State University.I love what I do and look forward to sharing the fun with you!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

