Classes and Recipes

Fantastic Fall Fun (and a quick recipe for you.)

I love everything about fall: the smell of burning leaves and backyard bonfires, the colors, the costumes and, of course, the candy apples. I am extremely lucky to have an office framed with windows at every turn. I am surrounded by panoramic views of the fall foliage in both Missouri and Illinois. As the days progress the changing colors remind me that autumn is the most fleeting of seasons and I still have so much to accomplish before the heavy frosts and cold temperatures drive me indoors for the winter. October is flying by in a rush of Homecoming activities and haunted happenings…I have to hurry!

Besides the autumn poets sing, A few prosaic days A little this side of the snow And that side of the haze. ~Emily Dickinson

Maybe this sense of urgency explains why our October and early November schedule in the office of Extended and Continuing Education is always jammed full. If you haven’t yet checked out all of our activities, I urge you to take a peek. October is still brimming with personal development workshops to both sooth mind and body (Essential Oil, Feng Shui and Yoga) and send shivers down your spine (Haunted Downtown Walking Tours and Ghost Hunting 101.) As we gear up for the holidays, we have workshops to inspire handmade gifts (Soap Making, Photoshop, Creative Kids) and help you take your seasonal entertaining to the next level (Build-a-Bar, SushiSkool and Savor the Season.)

Whew…just typing all that made me tired! All of these workshops, though fun, can be a little exhausting! So in the spirit of continuing education, I thought I would end each of my blogs by sharing a favorite recipe, craft, skill…something you can use and possibly pass on to others. Today I am going to give you a super-fast recipe that is great for feeding people coming over to watch the game (go Cards!) I don’t know about you, but when I get busy, I rely a lot on my slow-cooker for quick meals or appetizers that are ready to serve guests as soon as I walk in the door (now if picking up the house were that easy…lol.)

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken

It is easy, tasty, and requires few ingredients.

Ingredients

3 lb. bag of frozen chicken, Frank's Red Hot Wing's Buffalo Sauce, & a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix.

Crockpot

Put all the ingredients into the CROCK pot. One of the reasons I love this recipe is the chicken goes in completely FROZEN. Many times, I lack the organizational skills to thaw things out ahead of time. But with this recipe, it doesn't matter in the slightest!

Add the Sauce

I pour the entire bottle of Frank's Buffalo sauce right on top of the chicken. The original recipe calls for 3/4ths of the bottle, but the first time I made it, it was too dry. Now I add the entire bottle and it is wonderfully juicy. You can also use the Frank's Hot Buffalo sauce if you like a bit more heat.

Add Seasoning

I add nearly all of the Ranch Dip mix right on top of the chicken, put the cover on the crock pot, and cook it on low for at least six or seven hours.

Shred the Chicken

At that point, I pull the chicken breasts out of the crock pot and pull them apart with two forks.

Shred the Chicken

If it is difficult, I know they are not ready. But usually, after about six hours, they just fall apart.

Back into the Slow Cooker

After all the chicken is shredded, I put it all back into the slow cooker, add a couple tablespoons of butter, and let it cook for another hour so the shredded chicken can soak up all that yummy sauce.

The Finished Product

After an hour, all the sauce is soaked up and the chicken is nice and juicy.

Now it is time to eat! My favorite way to serve is as a sandwich on a toasted deli roll with some melted pepper jack cheese. You can also use it in scrambled eggs, macaroni & cheese, nachos, on crackers, egg rolls, quesadillas, melt with some Velveeta instead of Rotel to make a dip….

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken

  • 3 lb. bag of frozen chicken breasts
  • 1 bottle Frank’s Wings Buffalo Sauce
  • 1 packet Ranch Dip Mix
  • 2 TBSP butter
  1. Put frozen chicken, wing sauce, and ranch dip mix into crock pot.
  2. Cook on low at least 6 to 7 hours
  3. Using two forks, shred chicken & return to crock pot.
  4. Add butter.
  5. Cook on low for an additional hour.

By the way, I originally found this recipe on Pinterest.com. If you haven’t heard of Pinterest, you don’t know what you are missing! If you try the recipe, let me know what you think. Hope to hear from you soon!

About semochristy

I am the Assistant Director of Extended and Continuing Education at Southeast Missouri State University.I love what I do and look forward to sharing the fun with you!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

University Logo
